Spring Nationals Follow Us on Twitter! Southern Nationals Series
Learn More About Schaeffer Oil!

Southern Nationals Bonus Series Headlines Mike Roland Memorial May 20th at Richmond Raceway

(May 16, 2017) On Saturday Night May 20th, the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series and the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Super Late Model Series will co-sanction the Mike Roland Memorial at the Yantz Family-promoted Richmond Raceway in Richmond, Ky. The Super Late Models will be the headlining event paying $10,000-to-win and $500-to-start. In addition, the Brucebilt Performance Open Wheel Modified Series will sanction the $1,200-to-win Modified Division event.

The double-header weekend opens on Friday May 19th at Crossville Speedway in Crossville, Tenn. as the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series races for $4,000-to-win.

Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y. leads the point standings for the Southern Nationals Bonus Series by virtue of winning the first event at Boyd’s Speedway on March 18th while 12-year-old sensation Carder Miller of Salem, Va. leads the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series point standings and Brad Hall of Knoxville, Tenn. leads the Brucebilt Iron-Man Modified Series points.

On Saturday Night at Richmond Raceway, the KDRA Super Stocks ($750-to-win) and Four Cylinders ($500-to-win) will all be on the racing card. The pit gates open at 2:00 on Saturday, the general admission gates will open at 3:30 pm, the driver’s meeting is scheduled for 5:45 pm and hot laps are slated for 6:15 pm. All times Eastern. Adult general admission is $25.00 adult pit passes are $45.00. The Super Late Model event will feature a complete show of practice, qualifying, heat races, consolation races and the 50-lap main event.

This will mark the fourth-ever visit by the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series to Richmond Raceway. Former Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series winners at Richmond Raceway have been: Zack Dohm in June of 2016 ($10,000), Mike Marlar in July of 2015 ($10,000) and Justin Rattliff in September of 2015 ($3,000).

The entry fee for the Super Late Model division will be $100 and the tire rules will be as follows: Hoosier 1350 and 1600 or American Racer 48 and 56. Also, Super Late Model teams will need to get their transponders for the series and the rental fee is $10 (or a $5 scoring fee if a driver has their own transponder). The series will also pay a $200 bonus to the highest finishing driver using all Steel/Spec engine and a $200 bonus to the highest finishing driver using a CT525 engine.

The entry fee for the Brucebilt Iron-Man Open Wheel Modified division will be $20 (which includes transponder rental) and the tire rule will be as follows: Front- Medium, A40S, M-30s, A40, Hard, H40, & M-60 (siping allowed on front due to carry-over from 2016 season); Rear- Hoosier A40S, M-30S, A40, Hard, H40, M-60 and American Racer Hard and Extra Hard with no grooving allowed. The only tires that can be siped on the rear is the Hoosier M-60 and American Racer Extra Hard.

The car and driver weight rules for this event will be as follows: 2350 lbs. for an Open Motor, 2300 lbs. for a Steel Block/Aluminum Head - Spec Motor Only (8" spoiler allowed, 12" sides), 2250 lbs. for a CT525 Motor (8" spoiler allowed) and 2250 lbs. for an all Steel Motor or Crate Motor (8" spoiler allowed, 12" sides). There will be a pound per lap burnoff plus 5 lbs. in Heats, Last Chance races and in the Feature.

The track will host an open practice session on Friday May 19th from 7:00 pm until 10:00 pm EST.

Richmond Raceway is located at 328 Greens Crossing Road. Promoter Larry Yantz can be reached at (606) 510-5331 or track co-promoter Chad Yantz at (606) 510-4836 or log on to their official website at www.richmond-raceway.net. The phone number at the track for information concerning race events and raceday information is (859) 624-5640.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or visit the official website located at www.SouthernNationalsSeries.com .

Super Late Model Purse (50 laps): 1) $10,000, 2) $5,000, 3) $2,500, 4) $2,000, 5) $1,500, 6) $1,100, 7) $1,000, 8) $950, 9) $900, 10) $850, 11) $800, 12) $750, 13) $650, 14) $600, 15) $550, 16) $530, 17) $520, 18) $500, 19) $500, 20) $500, 21) $500, 22) $500.

Open Wheel Modified Purse (25 laps): 1st- $1,200, 2nd- $600, 3rd- $350, 4th- $250, 5th- $200, 6th- $175, 7th- $150, 8th- $140, 9th- $130, 10th- $125, 11th- $120, 12th- $115, 13th- $110, 14th- $110, 15th- $110, 16th- $110, 17th- $110, 18th- $110, 19th- $110, 20th- $110, 21st- $110, 22nd- $110.

Current Southern Nationals Bonus Series Points (after March 18th)
1. Tim McCreadie-200
2. Dale McDowell-196
3. Mike Marlar-194
4. Jason Hiett-192
5. Donald McIntosh-190
6. Michael Page-188
7. David Payne-186
8. Shanon Buckingham-184
9. Riley Hickman-182
10. Jason Welshan-180

Current Iron-Man Late Model Points (after May 13):
1. Carder Miller-554
2. Ray Cook-524
3. Levi Ashby-443
4. Craig Greer-435
5. Joey Standridge-425
6. David Payne-396
7. Kenny Collins-392
8. Billy Ogle Jr.-388
9. Shane Tankersley-366
10. Casey Turman-354

Current Iron-Man Modified Series Points (after January 28th)
1. Brad Hall-200
2. Shon Flanary-196
3. Ray Bollinger-194
4. Jimmy Daulton-192
5. Justin Cooper-190
6. Brian Skaggs-188
7. Brad Dyer-186
8. Tim Patrick-184
9. Jamie Mosley-182
10. Billy Palmer-180



[ home | schedule | results | points | sponsors | history | tracks | purse | rules | contact ]

Home Schedule Results Points Sponsors History Tracks Purse Rules Contact Delph Communications Website!