Spring Nationals Follow Us on Twitter! Southern Nationals Series
Learn More About Schaeffer Oil!

Southern Nationals Bonus Series Races at Boyd’s Speedway on November 18 for the Gobbler

(November 13, 2017) The 29th edition of the historic “Gobbler” event will take place on Saturday November 18th at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, Ga. paying $5,000-to-win. The event will be again sanctioned by the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV.

In previous series visits to Boyd’s Speedway, Tim McCreadie (2017), Dale McDowell (2016), Brandon Overton (2016), Chris Madden (2015) and Randy Weaver (2015) took victories at the Tennessee-Georgia oval.

Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga. leads the series point standings into the season-ending event on November 18th over David Payne of Murphy, N.C. and Joey Standridge of Tellico Plains, Tenn.

On Friday November 17th, the Super Late Models, Limited Late Models, Crate Late Models and Sportsman Late Models may practice. The track will host racing action for the Hot Shots, Hobby and Street Stock divisions with racing beginning at 7:00 pm and practice sessions for those Late Model divisions racing on Saturday may practice.

On Saturday November 18th, the Southern Nationals Super Late Models will race 50 laps for $5,000-to-win and $450-to start. Along with the Super Late Models, the Limited Late Models will compete for $1,500-to-win, the Crate Late Models will race for $1,500-to-win and the Sportsman Late Models will race for $800-to-win. On Saturday, the driver’s meeting will be at 6:30 pm and hot laps are currently slated for 7:00 pm. On Saturday, general admission is $20.00 while adult pit passes are $35.00.

On Saturday, there will be a complete show of hot laps, qualifying, last chance heat races and the 40-lap main event for the Super Late Models. The tire rule for the event will be Hoosier 1350 and 1600 along with the American Racer 48 and 56 compounds. The series entry fee is $100.

In 2016, Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga. took the payday over Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., and Jason Hiett of Oxford, Ala.

Boyd’s Speedway is located at 1481 Scruggs Road in Ringgold, GA 30736. Further information can be obtained by calling (706) 891-6803 or visit www.BoydsSpeedway.net. Mufflers are mandatory in all divisions competing at Boyd’s.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or visit the official website located at www.SouthernNationalsSeries.com .

Super Late Model Payoff (50 Laps): 1) $5,000, 2) $2,500, 3) $1,600, 4) $1,200, 5) $900, 6) $700, 7) $675, 8) $650, 9) $625, 10) $600, 11) $580, 12) $560, 13) $540, 14) $520, 15) $500, 16) $480, 17) $470, 18) $460, 19) $450, 20) $450, 21) $450, 22) $450.

Current Southern Nationals Bonus Series Points (after October 21)
1. Donald McIntosh-2,202
2. David Payne-1,990
3. Joey Standridge-1,469
4. Jeff Neubert-1,244
5. Jamie Oliver-1,022
6. Brandon Overton-938
7. Billy Ogle Jr.-799
8. Steve Smith-797
9. Mike Marlar-794
10. Dale McDowell-772

2017 Southern Nationals Bonus Series Winners:
Tim McCreadie-Boyd’s Speedway
Tyler Carpenter-Richmond Raceway
Donald McIntosh-Tri-County Race Track
Eddie Carrier Jr.-Florence Speedway
Vic Hill-Tazewell Speedway
Mike Marlar-North Georgia Speedway
Mike Marlar-Rome Speedway
Brian Smith-Tazewell Speedway
T.J. Reaid-Smoky Mountain Speedway
Shawn Chastain-Tri-County Race Track
Mike Marlar-Ponderosa Speedway
Donald McIntosh-Blue Ridge Motorsports Park

Previous Gobbler winners (Cleveland and Boyd’s Speedways)
1989-Lamar Lowry
1990-Ronnie Johnson
1991-Rex Richey
1992-Ronnie Johnson
1993-Dale McDowell
1994-Frank Ingram
1995-Don O’Neal
1996-Ronnie Johnson
1997-Dale McDowell
1998-Danny Peoples
1999-John Jones
2000-Patrick Duggan
2001-Dale McDowell
2002-Dale McDowell
2003-Dale McDowell
2004-Skip Arp
2005-Scott Sexton
2006-Clint Smith
2007-Shane Clanton
2008-Shane Clanton
2009-Chris Madden
2010-Jonathan Davenport
2011-Ray Cook
2012-Randy Weaver
2013-Jake Knowles
2014-Riley Hickman
2015-Chris Madden
2016-Brandon Overton



[ home | schedule | results | points | sponsors | history | tracks | purse | rules | contact ]

Home Schedule Results Points Sponsors History Tracks Purse Rules Contact Delph Communications Website!